Ganatantrik Oikya sweeps DU registered graduates rep polls

DU Correspondent

Ganatantrik Oikya Parishad, backed by the ruling Awami League and its allies, bagged 18 out of 25 posts in Dhaka University’s registered graduates representatives polls held on September 14, 21 and 28 across the country.
The acting presiding officer of the elections, Shahid Akhtar Hossain, also the university pro-vice-chancellor of administration, announced the results on Sunday evening at the Nabab Nawab Ali Chowdhury Senate Bhaban.
The elected candidates from the Ganatantrik Oikya Parishad includes M Farid Uddin with 9384 votes, Monjurul Ahsan Bulbul with 9108, Mohammed Farashuddin with 9063, AKM Golam Rabbani with 8750, Ashim Sarkar with 8667 votes, SM Bahlul Majnun Chunnu with 8611 votes, Mahfuza Khanam with 8606 votes, M Iqbal Arsenal with 8529 votes, SM Imamul Haq with 8513 votes, Md Azizur Rahman with 8419 votes, Nargis Jahan Banu with 8405 votes, Muhammad Abdus Samad with 8346 votes, ABM Badruddoza with 8282 votes, AHM Enamul Haque Chowdhury Khashru with 8271 votes, Md Abdul Bari with 8235 votes, Md Sharfuddin Ahmed with 8231 votes, Ramendhu Krishna Majumdar with 8202 votes and Md Shamsul Haque Bhuiyan with 8077 votes.
Successful seven candidates from Jatiyatabadi Parishad, backed by Bangladesh Nationalist Party and Jamaat-e-Islami, are AFM Yousuf Haider bagging 8930 votes, Md Abdul Alim Patwary 8854 votes, Abdul Aziz 8438 votes, Umme Kulsum Rowjatur Romman 8283 votes, Md Morshed Hasan Khan 8197 votes, Mahfuz Ullah 8102 votes and Nasir Uddin Ahmed Ashim 8055 votes.
Out of 34,545 voters, a total of 19,161—8,221 in three centres in Dhaka city on September 28, and 10,940 in 40 centres outside the Dhaka city on September 21 and September 14 cast their votes to elect 25 registered graduates’ representatives, one of the key components of 105-member senate body.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *