Full verdict released disqualifying MPs from non-govt edu institutes

New Age Online

High Court Supreme Court SCThe High Court on Sunday released a full verdict disqualifying Members of the parliament from becoming ex-officio chairmen of four non-government schools and colleges in his or her area.
The full verdict directed the education secretary and Dhaka education board chairman to form an adhoc committee to run the non-government educational institutes including Viqarunnissa Noon School and College within 30 days and take step to hold election.
The Court also directed the authorities to make a provision for the appointments of chairman of the governing bodies on basis of election to ensure the democratic process.
Earlier on June 1, HC in a short verdict had struck down the regulations that empowered the government and the Dhaka education board to appoint unelected special managing committees or governing bodies with local MPs as chairmen.
The HC verdict also declared as illegal the seven-member special managing committee of Viqarunnisa Noon School and College led by civil aviation minister Rashed Khan Menon.
An unelected committee has been running the affairs of Viqarunnisa School since December 2015, said the court verdict.
The HC verdict was delivered by a bench of Justice Zinat Ara and Justice AKM Zahirul Haque after hearing a public interest litigation writ petition filed by Supreme Court lawyer Eunus Ali Akond.
The petitioner challenged two sections of the regulations adopted in 2009 that allow the Dhaka education board and the government to appoint local MPs as the ex-officio chairpersons of four schools of their choice.
The petitioner alleged that the MPs made huge money by controlling admission of students and hiring teachers and employees in reputed schools and colleges.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *