Crime suspects in 301-member BCL committee

Arifur Rahman

Ruling Awami League-backed student organisation Bangladesh Chhattra League announced its 301-member full-fledged central committee on Monday evening.
Awami League president Sheikh Hasina, also the prime minister, approved the central committee on Monday afternoon, about seven months after Saifur Rahman Sohag and Zakir Hossain were elected president and general secretary in the 28th council session of Chhatra League on July 26, 2015.
The new committee includes 61 vice-presidents, 11 joint secretaries, 11 organising secretaries and other secretaries, deputy secretaries and assistant secretaries.
Although the constitution of the organisation provides for formation of a 251-member central committee, the decision of extension of the committee has been made by the high-ups of the party, said Chhatra League general secretary Zakir Hossain.
A number of Chhatra League leaders alleged that they were not included in the committee as none could get a position in the committee without ‘blessings’ of the syndicate led by former Chhatra League president Liakat Shikdar, an allegation denied by Liakat, who led the student body a decade ago.
Even people having criminal records were rewarded and included in the new committee, the ‘deprived’ leaders alleged.
New committee vice-presidents Anwar Hossain Anu and Nishita Iqbal Nodi are engaged in various crimes including assault of co-activists, drugs trading and extortion, they alleged.
Anwar was suspended from the organisation on charge of anti-organisational activities in 2008.
Another vice-president, Mehedy Hasan, also former Muhsin Hall unit general secretary, is also engaged in drugs trading and extortion, alleged some Chhatra League leaders.
Vice-president Ruhul Amin, also former Sir AF Rahman Hall unit general secretary, is allegedly involved in extortion in Nilkhet area.
Vice-president Sakib Hasan Sweem, also former Dhaka college unit general secretary, was suspended from the organisation in 2012 for assaulting the then college unit joint convener Al Mahmud Tareque.
Sakib came in the spotlight again for his alleged involvement in a clash on November 30, 2013 that killed Dhaka College student Asaduzzaman Faruq.
Jahangirnagar University unit president Mahmudur Rahman Jony, who was made a vice-president of the central committee, was allegedly involved in forgery in the admission tests of the university.
JU unit general secretary Razib Ahmed Rasel, who was made a vice-president in the new central committee, was suspended on March 2, 2014 by the central committee about four months ago for his alleged involvement in a clash over having food without payment at the university hall.
The university also suspended him on April 6, 2013 on charge of attacking economics department lecturer Md Nurul Houqe.
He also beat up six students of the university on allegation of harassing his girlfriend on May 17, 2015.
Chhatra League president Saifur Rahman Sohag denied the allegations, saying that if any member of the committee was found to be non-student, married or involved in any crime, s/he would be expelled.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *