India U-19 storm into final

New Age Online

India stormed into the final of the ICC Under-19 World Cup with a 97-run victory over Sri Lanka at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in the capital on Tuesday.
India will play the 11th edition world youth cricket final against the winners of the 2nd semifinal — Bangladesh or West Indies – at SBNCS on February 14. The 2nd semifinal will take place also at the stadium on Thursday.
In the first semifinal on Tuesday, chasing a target of 268 runs, Sri Lanka were bundled out for 170 in 42.4 overs, United News of Bangladesh reports.
Kamindu Mendis topscored 39 off 67 balls and Shammu Ashan added 38 off 49 balls, both smacking four boundaries. Vishad de Silva (28 off 40b; 3×4) and Damitha Silva (24 off 39b; 2×4) were the other double figure scorers for Sri Lanka.
Mayank Dagar grabbed three wickets for 21 runs in 5.4 overs and Avesh Khan took two wickets for 41 runs in nine overs. Rahul Batham, Washington Sundar and Khaleel Ahmed took one wicket each for 19, 27 and 34 runs.
Sent India to bat first, India scored 267 for 9 in 50 overs with riding on middle-order resurgence after a quick loss of two top order batsmen.
Anmolpreet Singh, Sarfaraz Khan and Washington Sundar made their best efforts to help India recover from early blow as the team lost their opener Rishab Pant and his associate Ishan Kishan, also the team skipper, for 27 runs in 9.2 overs.
Anmolpreet-Sarfaraz paired for 96 runs in 21 overs in the 3rd wicket and carried the team total to a decent 123/3 in 30.2 overs before Sarfaraz was caught by Shammu Ashan off Asitha Fernando.
Anmolpreet who was adjudged man of the match, continued with Washington in the 4th wicket for another partnership of 70 runs in 11.5 overs.
The 4th pair ended up at 193/4 in 42.1 overs as Anmolpreet was caught by Vishad de Silva off Thilan Nimesh.
Anmolpreet topscored with 72 from 92 balls while Sarfaraz made 59 off 71 balls, hammering six boundaries and one six each.
Washington scored 43 off 45 balls including three boundaries and was caught by PVR de Silva off SHTN Nimesh at 218/5 in 45 overs.
Number-6 batsman Armaan Jaffer scored 29 off 16 balls with three boundaries and one six while Mayank Dagar (17 off 10b; 3×4), R Pant (14 off 28b; 2×4) and Mahipal Lomror (11 off 8b; 1×6) were the other double figure scorers for India.
Pacer AM Fernando grabbed four wickets for 43 runs in 10 overs.
Conceding 50 runs each, Lahiru Kumara and Thilan Nimesh took two wickets apiece from 10 overs each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *