Bangladesh recall Nasir, Mithun for World Twenty20

New Age Online

Bangladesh on Wednesday recalled batsman Mohammad Mithun and all-rounder Nasir Hossain in their 15-member squad for ICC World Twenty20, scheduled in India in March-April.
Mithun and Nasir were not part of Bangladesh squad that drew 2-2 with Zimbabwe in the recent series in Khulna.
Chief selector Faruk Ahmed said the duo have been picked as a back-up to the regular players.
‘We have more or less an idea about our best 11 players. We thought they have the potential to be next best,’ Faruk said in a press conference in Dhaka.
‘Mithun was not fit during the Zimbabwe series, so we could not see him at that time. We all know what Nasir is capable of. We rested him in Zimbabwe series because we wanted to see him some other players in his place.’
Wicketkeeper batsman Mithun played last of his Twenty20 internationals against West Indies in August 2014.
Batsman Mushfiqur Rahim and left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman also returned to the side after missing the last two matches against Zimbabwe due to injury.
Bangladesh will play in the qualification Group A alongside Ireland, Netherlands and Oman.
The top team of the group will join in main draw, which starts on March 15.
Squad: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mithun, Sakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafee bin Murtaza (Capt), Mahmudullah , Nasir Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Arafat Sunny, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, and Abu Hider.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *