16 Sylhet mayors sworn in

Staff Correspondent . Sylhet

The newly elected mayors and councilors of 16 municipalities of Sylhet division were sworn in on Wednesday.
The divisional commissioner Jamal Uddin Bhuiyan administered the oath to the mayors, councilors and women councilors at a programme held at the Sylhet District Council auditorium in the afternoon.
The divisional commissioner urged the elected mayors and councilors to work for development of Sylhet and said the government officials would always provide necessary supports for them.
Awami League central organising secretary Misbah Uddin Siraj, its Sylhet city unit president Badar Uddin Ahmad Kamran and deputy commissioners of Sylhet, Sunamganj, Moulvibazar and Habiganj were present at the oath administering programme.
Bangladesh Nationalist Party’s Habiganj district general secretary GK Gaus, who was a prime suspect in the case, filed in connection with the murder of former finance minister Shah AMS Kibria, also took oath as the municipal mayor for second time.
Sylhet Central Jail superintendent Md Sagir Miah told New Age that district magistrate Shahidul Islam released Gaus on parole to take the oath.
He was taken back to the jail after the programme was completed, the jail superintendent said.
Gaus was suspended from the mayoral position of Habiganj municipal council after he was indicted in the Kibria murder case and later, he was elected mayor for second time in the polls, held on December 30.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *