MAYORAL POLLS : AL gets 168, BNP 19 out of 214

Staff Correspondent

The Election Commission on Thursday announced unofficial results of elections to 214 of the 234 municipalities
held on Wednesday as the results of the rest 20 municipalities was withheld.
Of the 224 municipalities, the ruling Awami League took 168, BNP 19, Jatiya Party one and independent candidates defeated party nominated candidates in 26 municipalities, Election Commission secretary M Sirajul Islam told reporters.
He said that 73.92 per cent voters exercised their voting rights while three females were elected mayors at Nator, Belkuchi and Tarabo municipalities.
The commission withheld results for 19 municipalities as polling was postponed at 39 polling stations there following violence, while election to Mdhabdi municipality in Narsingdi was suspended because of violence, the official said.
According to the results, in Tangail, AL’s Jamilur Rahman Miron (49,573 votes) defeated BNP’s Mahmudul Haque (24,942 votes) at Tangail, AL’s Masud Parvej (22,258) defeated BNP’s Shaidul Islam (4,653) at Madhupur, AL’s Khandakar Manjuru Inslam (11,393) defeated BNP’s SMA Sobhan (7,064) at Dhanbari, AL’s Sahadat Hossain (9,599) defeated BNP’s Hazrat Ali Mia (4,505) at Mirzapur, AL’s Masudul Haque Masud (5,471) defeated BNP’s Abdul Khalek Mandal (5,295) at Bhuapur and AL’s Rakibul Haque (21,524) defeated BNP’s Khandakar Jahangir Alam (4,528) at Gopalpur.
In Manikgonj, AL’s rebel Gazi Kamrul Huda (13,449) defeated BNP’s Nasir Uddin Ahmed (4,528) at Manikganj and AL’s Golam Kabir (12,519) defeated BNP’s Dewan Nazim Uddin (12,347) at Dhamrai.
In Dhaka, AL’s Abdul Gani (35,112) defeated BNP’s Mohammad Badiuzzaman (28,418) at Savar.
In Narayanganj, AL’s Hasina Gazi (39,821) defeated BNP’s Nasir Uddin (5,944) at Tarabo and AL’s Sadiqur Rahman (9,064) defeated BNP’s Abu Taher (6,025) at Sonargaon.
In Rajbari, AL’s Mohammad Ali Choudhury (18, 693) defeated BNP’s Arnab Newaj Mahmud (11,312) at Rajbari, AL’s Abdul Al Masud (12,427) defeated BNP’s Chand Ali Khan (2,226) at Pangsha and AL’s Nizam Sheaikh (6,672) defeated BNP’s Nazrul Islam (4,749) at Goalanda.
In Gopalganj, AL’s Liakat Ali (17,016) defeated AL’s rebel Tawfiqul Islam (4,720).
In Madaripur, AL’s Khalid Hossain (20,725) defeated BNP’s Mizanur Rahman (5,977).
In Shariatpur, AL’s Rafiqul Islam (15,991) defeated BNP’s AKM Nasiruddin (3,681) at Shariatpur, AL’s Hayder Ali (6,158) defeated AL’s rebel Shadiul Islam (4,465) at Naria, A’Ls Humyan Kabir (4,763) defeated BNP’s Alomgir Hossain (3,057) at Damudya, AL’s M Yunus (3,833) defeated independent candidate Anisur Rahman (2,800) at Janjira and AL’s Abdul Mannan (3,357) defeated BNP’s ABM Mustafiz (1,271) at Bhedarganj.
In Gazipur, AL’s Anisur Rahman (26,334) defeated BNP’s Shaidullah Shain (16,121) at Sripur.
In Bogra, BNP’s Mahabubur Rahman (1,07,340) defeated AL’s Rezaul Karim (59,117) at Bogra.
In Naogaon, BNP’s Nazmul Haque (34,884) defeated AL’s Ahmed Shisan (32,632) at Naogaon.
In Barisal, AL’s Shafique Uzzaman (9,358) defeated BNP’s Asad Mahmud (596) Muladi, AL’s Harisur Rahman (18,959) defeated BNP’s Shafiqur Rahman (776) at Gauranadi, AL’s Kamal Uddin (1,567) defeated Islami Andolan Bangladesh’s Jahangir Hossain (1,207) at Mehendiganj, AL’s Lokman Hossain (7,225) defeated Islami Andolan Bangladesh’s Jahangir Hossain (1,218) at Bakerganj, AL’s Gias Uddin (6,301) defeated BNP’s Shahidul Islam (2,360) at Wazirpur.
In Thakurgaon, AL’s Kashirul Alam (5,753) defeated BNP’s Raziur Rahman Razu (5,113) at Pirganj.
In Dinajpur, independent candidate Murtaza Sarkar Manik (6,403) defeated AL’s Shajahan Ali (4,751) at Phulbari, BNP’s Syed Jahangir Alam(39,587) defeated AL’s Anwarul Islam (24,534) at Dinajpur, Jamaat-backed independent candidate Mohammad Hanif (4,500) defeated AL’s Mosharaf Hossain (3,848) at Birganj and AL’s rebel Liakat Ali Sarkar (9,520) defeated AL’s Akkas Ali (8,928) at Birampur.
In Rangpur, AL’s Uttam Kumar Saha (6,992) defeated independent candidate Azizul Haque (5,995) at Badarganj.
In Sylhet, AL’s Khalil Uddin (1,530) defeated independent candidate Hifzur Rahman (1,371) at Zakiganj, AL’s rebel Nizam Uddin (3,378) defeated AL’s Lutfur Rahman (2,897) at Kanaighata and AL’s rebel Shirazul Jabbar Choudhury (4,582) defeated independent candidate Aminur Rahman (3,208) at Golapganj.
In Comilla, AL’s Mofizul Islam (18,977) defeated BNP’s Alamgir Khan (2,357) at Chandina, AL’s Abul Khair (18,146) defeated BNP’s Shahnaz Akhtar (10,680) at Laksam, AL’s Nayem Yousuf (16,286) defeated BNP’s  KMI Khalil (3,414) at Daudkandi, BNP’s Jasim Uddin (11,910) defeated AL’s  Bahaduruzzaman (5,997) at Barura, AL’s Mizanur Rahman (12,708) defeated rebel AL Imam Hossain Patuari (5,800) at Chauddagram and AL’s Nazrul Islam (7,685) defeated independent Zahirul Huq (3,386) at Homna.
In Feni, AL’s Omar Faruk Khan (11,587) defeated BNP’s Kazi Saifur Rahman (2,356) at Daganbhuiyan.
In Noakhali, AL’s Abdul Kader (9,336) defeated BNP’s Kamal Uddin Chowdhury (1,835) at Bashurhat and AL’s AKM Yousuf Ali (9,337) defeated independent candidate Saif Uddin Ahmed (7,289) at Hatiya.
In Chittagong, AL’s Zaharullah (20,690) defeated BNP’s Azmat Ali Bahadur (464) at Sandwip, AL’s Selimul Huq Chowdhury (13,330) defeated BNP’s Kamrul Islam Hossaini (6,350) at Banskhali, AL’s Mahbub Alam (11,522) defeated Liberal Democratic Party’s Rafiqul Alam (2,289) at Satkania, AL’s Gias Uddin (7,297) defeated BNP’s AZM Rafiqul Islam Parvez (475) at Mirsarai, AL’s Harunur Rashid (12,096) defeated BNP’s Touhidul Alam (7,535) at Patia, AL’s Debashis Palit (28,162) defeated BNP’s  Kazi Abdullah Al Hasan (2,120) at Raujan, AL’s Nizam Uddin Shah (5,066) defeated BNP’s Moin Uddin (238) at Baraiyerhat, AL’s Shahjahan Sikder (12,987) defeated BNP’s  Helal Uddin Shah (2,158) at Rangunia and AL’s Badiul Alam (14,832) defeated BNP’s Syed Abul Mansur (2,942).
The AL candidates also won Narsingdi municipality, Sundarganj, Gaibandha and Gobindaganj in Gaibandha and Borhanuddin, Daulatkhan and Bhola in Bhola.
New Age on Thursday published the results of the rest 126 municipalities as the results were available on the day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *